What I wore in… Spain

We spent our Easter break in Spain with my parents at our holiday home. It was a lovely break away from the 9-5 fast pace on London in the sunshine. We even had our family dog, Harry, with us to enjoy some relaxation!

IMG_7831

Whilst soaking up the sunshine I was able to wear LOTS of Lilly Pulitzer!

Living in the UK means that is it cold/ cloudy for most of the year so I have to get creative in the ways I style my ‘Lillydrobe’ – Coming to Spain means I can wear it in the way it was intended!

Mark has been a fantastic ‘InstaHusband’ this holiday and took some great photos of my favourite looks. At the end of each photo block I have linked the items I am wearing, or similar options for older styles.

Enjoy!

Shorts

Pictured clockwise from top left are:

Lilly Pulitzer Adie shorts in ‘You Gotta Regatta’ with a lime green silk look vest top from New Look which is actually still online in the sale here. You can find this season’s Adie shorts here.

Lilly Pulitzer Coral tank top in ‘Into The Deep’ with Lilly Pulitzer white lace Walsh shorts. Similar top here and shorts by Topshop here.

Lilly Pulitzer Buttercup shorts (similar here) in ‘Spring Fling’ and peach, lace off the shoulder top from Forever 21.

Lilly Pulitzer Walsh shorts in ‘Party Girl’ and a lace off the shoulder top I got at a thrift shop in London. Similar here.

Lilly Pulitzer Walsh shorts (again!) in ‘Reef Retreat’ with orange vest from River Island, similar here from Next.

I love wearing flowy tops in bright colours with all my Lilly shorts, I try to look for ones in a silky feeling material as they fall better and last longer than cotton ones.

Recently I have played with the lace off the shoulder trend which is so popular this year, I have found it works much better with floral based prints vs. more tropical ones.

Luxletic

I don’t own many Lilly Pulitzer Luxletic items and wish I had more! They are so comfy!

This trip I styled my Luxletic shorts (similar Luxletic skort here, they don’t have any shorts online right now!) in ‘Toucan Can’ with the same lime green vest top from New Look which is featured above.

I also wore my Lilly Pulitzer Jellies Be Jammin Luxletic Weekender Leggings with my Kate Spade Keds and Lilly Pulitzer bag / accessories.

Trousers and Jumpsuits

I was so happy to finally wear this ‘Island Cocktail’ Lilly Pulitzer jumpsuit (similar here) I’ve had it almost a year and briefly wore it in Florida but it didn’t get enough love out there! It is a silky material and so easy to wear with minimal accessories.

Lilly Pulitzer Palazzo Pants are my go ‘dressy’ pant. They are literally the comfiest thing ever and can be worn to travel, or be dressed up for an evening out. I paired mine with this pink top from Next and my monogrammed Jack Rogers/ Lilly Pulitzer Inspired sandals (you can find similar on Etsy):

Screen Shot 2017-04-18 at 19.02.43

On our last night I paired my ‘Exotic Garden’ Lilly Pulitzer Georgia May palazzo pants with this amazzzzzing top I picked up in Spain!

I found the top at a pop up boutique as part of a local market and just had to have it. The lace and pom pom details are so cute and the off the shoulder style looks great with long pants to balance it out!

I sometimes find that off the shoulder styles slip down on my arms so when I find a top with sleeves which are separate from the top I always go for it – They are much easier to wear the sleeves are attached like this!

Statement Tops:

I wore white skinny jeans for the first time in about 8 years this holiday… and to be honest I still have some weight to shift before they will look how I want them, but they worked well with this Lilly Pulitzer Magnolia top in ‘Ooh La La’ (similar lace version here).

I also loved pairing this Lilly Pulitzer printed Dusk top with some white lace overlay denim shorts (similar here on ASOS) – I definitely need to get more dusk style silk tops they are so easy to wear and look really flattering.

Day Dresses

I LOVE wearing my Lilly Pulitzer cotton swing dresses on hot days.

Pictured here is the Monterey dress in ‘Flamenco’ (pineapples) and ‘In A Pinch’ (blue). The Pink Melle dress in ‘Magenta Hottie Reduced’ is one of my all time favourite Lilly Dresses – I love the shade of pink!

You can shop Lilly Day dresses here.

Evening Dresses:

Shock! One of these dresses isn’t Lilly!

The dress on the bottom I actually picked up in Spain at the Saturday market for just 12 Euros! I am obsessed with the detailed lace and the style is so easy to wear, it is elasticated on the shoulder and it made from a flowing, light linen material – I am hoping to pick up some other colours when I am back out in Spain in July!

You can find similar off the shoulder/ lace dresses on ROMWE

The top left dress is by Lilly Pulitzer in the print ‘A Little Tipsy’. This is quite a hard to find print but luckily for me another International Lilly Lover picked it up for me at a warehouse sale in Canada last year! You can Shop similar here.

The top right dress is Lilly Pulitzer’s Shianne dress in ‘Sea Soirée’. I love this dress so much – It was the first Lilly dress I paid full price for back in 2014 and it has remained one of my favourites ever since! I think the style is so flattering. A similar version can be found here.

There isn’t much that beats a classic Lilly Shift. I popped the tags on this beautiful ‘Hibiscus Stroll’ Cathy shift dress this trip – I am obsessed with the lace detail on the back of this style! You can shop similar shifts here.

This Lilly Pulitzer Slone maxi is actually hand made by an Etsy seller in China! She uses authentic Lilly fabric to replicate the popular Slone style in designs the dress was never produced in.

This one is in ‘Mango Salsa’ and matches my Kate Spade watermelon clutch perfectly. I’ve found similar fruit inspired bags at Skinny Dip London.

This dress was number 1 on my Summer 2016 APS wish list and I managed to snag it!

The Seaview Halter Maxi Dress in ‘Casa Banana’ is so bright and vibrant and made out of a thick silky material. I prefer the dress to other items like cotton tops in this print as the print looks less red and more pink on the silk! Lilly has a similar ‘fancy maxi’ for 2017 here.

Swimwear

Sadly Lilly Pulitzer no longer makes swimwear 😦 I managed to grab these bikinis during the Summer 2014 and 2015 APS’ I really hope they consider making it again in the future!

The ball was a gift with purchase last year! it matched the bikini top in ‘Scuba to Cuba’ perfectly so I had to get a photo!

This post has basically been a giant ad campaign for Lilly Pulitzer with a few basics from other places mixed in haha – I hope you got some ideas on how to style your Lilly or printed clothing in general if nothing else!

What trends will be packed in your summer suitcase? Leave a comment below!

4 thoughts on “What I wore in… Spain

  1. I love your bold colors and prints, you really are marketing the brand well, lol. The colors looked beautiful on you! I also loved the lace Pom Pom top great to find trendy boutiques that offer specialty styles. Love all the looks it definitely worked well with your Vacation vibe.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Chastity!

      Thanks so much for reading! I agree you can always find the most unique items at boutique stores, I was so pleased to find that top as the sleeves were just the way I like them which is rare! I wish they had other colours in it!

      Thank you for your kind words, it was nice to have some sunshine to properly wear my summer wardrobe- I am hoping it warms up in London soon so I can wear it more often!

      Like

Leave a Reply

